A fork in the road

It is always a happy problem to have a choice. It could be a difficult decision but ultimately it is better to have options rather than not having any.

Still, if you are going to choose between two things that may impact your whole life and your family’s, it could be a very scary decision to make. What if you choose the wrong path? What if it is better on the other side?

I guess that is why we are warned against “what ifs,” it can drive anyone crazy.

So how do you know it is the right decision, how do you stop the what ifs and prevent regrets in the future?

Trust in the Lord. He has a plan for you and me that is better than any of our plans.

Easier said than done.

I used to go with the flow and looking back I have achieved many positive things because I let God lead me. Now, I do not know how I become this controlling of my future. Maybe it is ambition or maybe its the influence of other people around me. Maybe it is both or something else entirely but the point really is that now, I cannot let go of control.

I am really trying. I know being this controlling is making me anxious and stressed. Every time I catch myself thinking, wishing, praying about what I want, I stop myself. I tell myself repeatedly that God heard me the first time, he probably memorized it since I ask for it every day, every time imaginable. He knows and there is probably a reason why it has not been answered.

Maybe it isn’t for me.

Maybe I am not yet ready.

Maybe He has other plans.

So, let go.

I had to learn, and I am still learning, to let go. I remind myself to use my wishes and prayers in asking for others or in staying more present to what is happening now.

God knows us. He has a plan for us, a plan bigger than ours so we need to trust Him. We need to let go and let Him. I believe that if I let God and include Him in decision making, I will have no room for what ifs and no time for regrets.

 

photo by kirkandmimi from pixabay

Leave a Reply

