Seek God First

“Seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added on to you.” (Matthew 6:33)

I first heard this gentle hymn when I was a little girl when I attended my mom’s prayer group. I always wondered what “all these things” were. For some reason, I had an impression that these are going to be material wealth. I never knew, though. I guess at that time, we did not find God.

Yet, 20 or so years later, this was one of the first songs that inspired me to start this blog. It seemed like an assurance from God that if I do as He is asking me to, He will take care of the rest.

The question “Is it finally wealth then?” actually entered my mind.

It still took me months before I finally wrote my first “real” post. Real, because now it comes more from the heart or at least more personal and less cerebral.

Since I began writing, I feel a bit more at peace with myself. I am less anxious and I am more aware of the things that destroy my peace. I think this is more than any material wealth. If it had not been for this blog, I don’t know what I would have been reduced to with all the negative thinking that gripped me less than a month ago.

I guess any journal writing will produce the same effects. But for me, writing about my reflections from bible readings, lent retreat, even glimpses on the lives of saints made me see where I am at on a spiritual level. I am refocusing and redirecting towards my purpose again.

I am blessed to have a mother who introduced me to God. I feel like it was easier for me to trust and love Him because I knew him since I was little, like any family member. But like most anyone else, familiarity made me lax.

Writing helped me focus more and look deeper. How about you, what are you being asked to do this season of lent? What positive things has it done for you so far? If you had not done it, why are you postponing it?

If you are feeling scared, inadequate or overwhelmed just remember that whatever it is, God will be right there with you. That the thing He is asking you to do is not solely about you but more about Him.

He’s got you.

He’s got this.

Besides, if you seek Him first, He will take care of the rest.

Leave a Reply

